Books in the Park

suggestions from the Barbara S. Ponce Public Library at Pinellas Park

The Book of Virtues edited by William J. Bennett

Leave a comment

bovI had this book in my house when I was little. I’m not sure where it came from; my mother must have received it as a gift. All I know is that when I opened the cover one rainy afternoon, I was hooked. Suddenly I was spending hours upon hours reading through this huge (by nine-year-old standards) book story by story. In fact, I credit this book with kindling my lifelong reading obsession. But it’s a small wonder, since the editor of this book is William J. “Bill” Bennett: former Secretary of Education.

This collection of morality tales are arranged by category: Self-Discipline, Compassion, Responsibility, Friendship (my favorite section), Work, Courage, Perseverance, Honesty, Loyalty, and Faith. Many of the stories will be familiar to adults, but the retelling and editing of them is superb, giving these old stories a timeless feel.

Perfect for bedtime, these stories are tailor-made to share with your children. Not only do they instill good morals, but they might also make your child into a reader. At the very least, your child will be entertained.

Of course, this collection makes great reading for adults, too!

Check the PPLC Catalog for The Book of Virtues.

Also check out the companion books: The Moral Compass and The Children’s Book of Virtues.

Leave a Reply

