Books in the Park

suggestions from the Barbara S. Ponce Public Library at Pinellas Park

Adulting by Kelly Williams Brown

Leave a comment

adultingBeing a grown-up is hard.  For those of us in our twenties or thirties struggling with the responsibilities of adulthood, this book is a godsend. Brown starts with the basics: how to clean, what things you absolutely must have in your home, and balancing your work and social lives.  When asked on her blog what qualifies her to write this advice, she responded: “Nothing, really. I am known to overdraw my banking account in six or seven transactions of $2.18 apiece; I forget to buy cat food and give my cat tuna, which she does not like; my windowsills are never actually clean in the corners, and until very recently, my breakfast of choice was cigarettes and sugar-free Rockstar energy drink. Sometimes, I wake up in the middle of the night, so sure that I am not an adult and never will be. ‘I’m a sham,’ I whisper quietly in the dark”.

If you’re someone like me who regularly runs out of toilet paper or throws away perfectly good dishes instead of cleaning them, you’ll want to read this book cover to cover. Brown is hilarious yet informative, citing advice from people like Emily Post and Ina Garten–so you know it’s legit. For those of you who feel totally confident in your adult powers, you should check this book out anyways, because I bet you’ll learn something.

Check the PPLC Catalog for Adulting.

Leave a Reply

