Books in the Park

suggestions from the Barbara S. Ponce Public Library at Pinellas Park

Delancey by Molly Wizenberg

Leave a comment

Delancey_coverWho doesn’t love pizza?!  I don’t think I have ever met anyone who doesn’t like pizza in some form or fashion, and that includes the people I have met in Uganda and Guatemala. (Some of the best pizza I have eaten was in those two countries!) We all may have varying opinions as to what constitutes the perfect pizza, but we all love it.

This book is about an artiste, his search for the perfect pizza, and his dream of sharing it with the world. Molly Wizenberg tells the story of her husband, Brandon, and his passion to start a pizza restaurant in Seattle and how it changed their lives. Before I read this book I knew that starting a restaurant is a difficult and risky venture, but I did not know all that goes into developing even a seemingly simple thing like pizza dough.  In an unpretentious, engaging style, Molly shares the ups and downs, joys and sorrows, and hopes and fears of their restaurant-opening journey. She also shares some fabulous recipes, some of which have been used at Delancey.

I really enjoyed this book and I think that you will, too.  Now I am looking forward to visiting Seattle again (I grew up there), and trying what sounds like an awesome pizza.  When I finally do make the trip, maybe I will even get to meet Molly and Brandon.  Since Seattle is over 3,000 miles away, it might take me a while to get back there.  In the meantime, I certainly have a new appreciation for all those whose drive and devotion enrich people’s lives, even through something as familiar as a piece of pizza.

Check the PPLC Catalog for Delancey.

Leave a Reply

