Books in the Park

suggestions from the Barbara S. Ponce Public Library at Pinellas Park

My Wish List by Grégoire Delacourt

Leave a comment

“A gem of a nomy-wish-list-covervel…one feels unbelievably happy reading this.” –Le Point

What would you do if you won the lottery?  That is a very intriguing question.  It is not one that I think about very often because I don’t play the lottery, and it’s pretty hard to win when you don’t play.  Nevertheless, when I saw that question on the cover of the book, My Wish List, it got me interested and got me thinking.  So I picked up the book, checked it out, took it home, and read it in 2 days.

Yes, it is the kind of book that keeps you interested and keeps you reading.  It also helps to read a book quickly when it is only 177 pages.  So if you like quick, interesting reads, this is the book for you.  The plot is simple – Jocelyne has a normal, everyday life in a small French village, until she wins the lottery.  Needless to say, her life is turned upside-down.  How it gets turned upside-down is what you will discover when you read this book.

I do want to give you a ‘heads-up.’ At the beginning, I quoted a recommendation fromLe Point, a French magazine.  That reviewer said the book made them happy.  I have to confess that I had the opposite feeling after reading the book.  I felt sad.  I am sure you have heard plenty of stories about people who have won the lottery and how it has ruined their lives instead of making them wonderful.  Of course, we all think that if we won the lottery it would be different for us and we would live happily ever after.  Life is never that simple, though, and it is not simple for Jocelyne.  To find out if this book will make you happy, sad, or some other emotion, you will need to read it for yourself!

Check the PPLC Catalog for My Wish List.

Leave a Reply

